Latoya Ramseur Family

latoyaLatoya and her 13 year old son, Ny’meir, are currently living with family in Maiden. Latoya is on disability and is unable to work at this time, but she keeps busy helping her relatives by watching their children when they need a hand. Ny’meir currently attends Maiden Middle School as an 8th grader and is already thinking ahead with plans to attend college.

Latoya’s family enjoys attending church, playing and watching basketball and just having some good time together as family.

Latoya has been through an unsettling set of circumstances with her health and living situation and now lives with family, paying rent and carrying her weight as part of a larger household.

When Latoya first found out she was accepted as a Habitat homebuyer she says her heart was filled with joy! She said, “I first thanked God and then I shared the good news with my mom and my son. “ Ny’Meir gets excited about having their own home and is anxious to help his mom with some of her sweat equity.

Continue Reading

Crystal Alcantara Family

Alcantara Crystal Family 2018Crystal and her sons Rico 16, Aydan 13, and Landon 11 years old are watching their NEW house come up out of the ground! The boys attend Hickory High, Northview Middle School and Viewmont Elementary respectively. Besides being a busy mom, Crystal works as a medical assistant at Skin Surgery Center.

In their spare time Crystal likes running and DIY hobbies. Ricco plays basketball and runs track, Ayden enjoys football and basketball, and Landon likes reading, especially the Harry Potter series. The whole family enjoys video games!

Continue Reading

Yesica Xiong Family

Xiong Yesica Family Yesica and her 2 children, Aedrey, 11 years old, going into 7th grade, and Yestin, 9 years old, going into 4th grade, are excited that their house will soon be built. A brand new house in a brand new neighborhood! The Xiong/Pham family is currently living with Yesica’s parents and other family members.

Yesica works for Catawba Valley Medical Center on the surgical floor as a CNA/Unit Secretary working 3,12-hour shifts. She also works for a local attorney, a few hours each week when they need extra help. Yesica has a Bachelors degree in criminal justice and has given thought to a job in the justice system when she is settled in her new home. Her parents were refugees in Thailand and immigrated to Argentina where Yesica was born. At the age of 12, she and her family were able to join family members when they immigrated to the United States. She is now fluent in 3 languages and finds that it has helped her in her CVMC position and imagines it will continue to be useful in whatever else she undertakes.

Continue Reading

Kellie Houston

kellieI’m a server and trainer,and I love working with the public. I have two grown sons. Kristopher is 21 years old and attended Newton Conover High School. He is an avid golfer and helps with the high school team. He’s employed at RSI Home Products. My eldest son Scotty is 24 years old. He too attended Newton Conover High School and then went on to graduate from Kings College. He currently works for J & W Pawn Shop. I enjoy yoga and volunteering on my days off. I am currently attending New Life Baptist Church.

Fundraising is not yet complete for Kellie's Habitat home. Help us raise funds to complete this build by making a tax deductible contribution to the Apostle Build*.

Continue Reading

Billy & Tasha


Billy works 3rd shift as a Line Operator and Tasha faces the daily challenges of being a stay-at-home Mom for Autumn (3) and Gabriel (1). She hopes that when the kids are both old enough to be in school, she’ll be able rejoin the workforce to help earn more money for the family.

With their hectic schedule, both Billy and Tasha consider their family time to be very special. The young family attends Eastern Sky Church of God in Conover to maintain and build their love and faith. The kids enjoy watching Sesame Street and other kids’ shows, playing with their dog Daisy, and just being with each other. You can feel the love.

Continue Reading

Ie & Jeramie

Yang Lee FamilyIe and Jeramie live with their 2-year old daughter, Faith in a small apartment in Hickory. Ie works at Legrand as an assembler on first shift and Jeramie is busy as a stay-at-home dad and keeps busy with Faith!

Jeramie loves to play soccer and fish in his free time, and Ie enjoys creating new looks with make up.

The family’s apartment is crowded and there is nowhere for Faith to play outdoors. They were very excited when they found out they were accepted into Habitat’s program. They couldn’t wait to tell both of their families near and far.

Continue Reading


Mahongany Smith and FamilyMahongany and her 2 daughters live in a 2 bed-room apartment in Hickory. Mahongany works at Kingston Residence of Hickory serving residents breakfast, lunch and sometimes dinner.

Zamya (12), attends Northview Middle school and Anashia (8) attends Southwest Elementary. Both girls are making A’s & B’s.

Mahongany and her girls like to stay at home cooking and cleaning and watching movies. Once in a while the girls go to Skateland on Saturdays.

Continue Reading

Chris and Annie

Chris and AnnieChris and Annie have 5 children from age 6 to newborn. Chris is the Principal of Christian Family Academy, and Annie is a busy stay-at-home mom. Their children: John, age 6, is eager to start school this year and loves being outside; Makayla, a sweet 4-year old girl loves catching bugs and dressing up like a princess; Josh is a 3-year old Lego maniac, and possibly a future architect; and Gabriel age 1 is busy doing everything he sees his brothers doing! In the midst of the family fun, new arrival, Ryan Christopher seems to be enjoying all the sibling love coming his way.

This busy family enjoys playing outside and visiting with family. The kids work together, wrestling daddy or playing tag. Chris coaches volleyball and soccer and Annie enjoys making celebration cupcakes. The family is active in their church.

Continue Reading


Keondra and Ky'UirKeondra is a CNA at Trinity Village. She plans to start back to college for social work soon. Her son, Ky’Uir will be 4 years old this year! He loves Thomas the Train and enjoys reading books and interacting with others.

Commenting on her current living environment, Keondra says, “We are currently living in a 2 bedroom apartment and I don’t feel safe there. It will be great to have a home of our own.”

When she found out she was accepted into the program she was shocked and couldn’t believe the news. Emotions rushed in and she shares, “I was scared because I know this will be a new life journey for me.” She called her close friend and gave her the news. Keondra exclaims, “We’re both very happy for the new blessing.”

Continue Reading